Podcasts in Thanatology

Fotolia

Hi Everyone,

Thanatology is a fascinating field in its juxtaposition with a number of other disciplines.

As my own podcast presented music as a healing agent for crying babies, or the bereaved or dying, I started my search for thanatology related podcasts in the field of music therapy. Janice Lindstrom’s podcasts at Music Therapy Show Blog Talk  capture the vastness of the issues which may be addressed through music therapy, including grief. This is a free subscription to which I subscribed through iTunes.

After finding Lindstrom’s podcast, I ran into difficulty finding podcasts on most of the websites I tend to use for grief information. In fact, other than some podcasts that are included in the course materials at Life and Death Matters, I couldn’t find any other examples. Although I widened my search,  hit a roadblock finding grief or death related podcasts.

I went to Blog Talk Radio where I knew that there was a podcast with Laurel Lewis about Death and Dying Dinner Parties. I continued searching the site and found a number of other grief related podcasts by Sarah Zink, such as this one about grief over the holidays. This is a timely podcast as holiday commercials are starting to pop up on TV and Christmas songs are being piped through the malls. Although there are a number of podcasts about grief included on this website, it isn’t a resource dedicated to just grief and dying.

Although my search was cursory, other than some isolated podcasts about grief on websites addressing social needs in general, finding a podcast site about grief to which I could subscribe was unsuccessful. Although frustrating for the purpose of this assignment, it may indicate a need for podcasts in this field. However, given the vast number of YouTube grief-related videos, it could be that podcasts might just be redundant and not as desirable as a video presentation.

If you have any sites for podcasts about grief and dying, I welcome you to share them with us.

Warmly

tg54

Leave a comment